5th Circuit Bankruptcy Bench-Bar Conference Held in New Orleans

This February, lawyers and judges from Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas gathered in New Orleans to discuss important developments in bankruptcy.

Highlights of the conference included plenary sessions featuring a review of Bankruptcy and The Roberts Court, a New Judges Panel, and a case study of Detroit and Chapter 9; a luncheon address from Chief Judge Carl Stewart; breakout sessions focusing on hot topics in business and consumer bankruptcy practices; an ethics presentation and a state-by-state breakfast session.

To quote a few of the participants:  “The speakers and materials were excellent;” the conference “Exceeded expectations;” and was “Very well run & offered timely topics.”

The inaugural Michelle Mendez Serviam Award recipients were recognized.  The Mendez Award was created in 2015 in recognition of the life and work of Michelle Mendez. Her extraordinary contribution to the 5th Circuit Bench and Bar was but one of the many selfless contributions she made in her lifetime for the benefit of fellow bankruptcy professionals.  Presented by CAIL, the award recognizes bankruptcy professionals who have demonstrated persistently exceptional contributions to others in the bankruptcy profession and community.  The recipients were:  Robert A. Byrd, managing partner at Byrd & Wiser (Mississippi); Jan M. Hayden, shareholder at Baker Donelson (Louisiana); and Deborah B. Langehennig, Chapter 13 Trustee for the Western District of Texas (Texas).

The conference benefitted from the outstanding guidance and suggestions of the Planning Committee:  Charlie Beckham, Brandon Brown, Rudy Cerone, The Hon. Douglas Dodd, The Hon. Harlin D. Hale, Jan M. Hayden, Tom Howley, The Hon. Stacey Jernigan (Conference Co-Chair), Kristina M. Johnson, Phillip “Kirk” Jones, Pat Kelley, Selene Maddox, The Hon. Jeffrey Norman,  The Hon. Neil Olack, The Hon. Neil Olack (Conference Co-Chair), Rakhee Patel, Louis M. Phillips, Jim Rea, Steve Rosenblatt, Robin Russell, The Hon. Katharine M. Samson, The Hon. Richard Schmidt, Frances A. Smith, Berry Spears, Jim F. Spencer, Jr., William E. Steffes, The Hon. Robert Summerhays (Conference Co-Chair), Patty Tomasco and William L. Wallander.

CAIL presents the 5th Circuit Bankruptcy Bench-Bar Conference every two years.  We look forward to 2018!