Academic Council

Since its foundation, the ITA has had a deep commitment to scholarship, and nowhere is this reflected better than in its Academic Council, made up of the top academics in the field of international arbitration. The Academic Council is a key constituent body of the ITA, intimately involved in its leadership, the preparation of its programs, and its publications and educational videos. It takes the lead in organizing the ITA-ASIL Conference each year in Washington, D.C..


Andrea K. Bjorklund
L. Yves Fortier Chair in International Arbitration and International Commercial Law
McGill University Faculty of Law
Montreal, Canada

Vice Chairs

Susan Franck
Washington & Lee Univ. Law School
Lexington, VA

Julian Davis Mortenson
Michigan Law School
Ann Arbor, MI

Chairs Emeriti

The Hon. Thomas Buergenthal
The George Washington University Law School
Washington, D.C.

David D. Caron
Dean and Professor of Law
The Dickson Poon School of Law, King’s College
London, United Kingdom

Council Members

Roger P. Alford
University of Notre Dame, The Law School
Notre Dame, IN

Shahla Ali
Univeristy of Hong Kong
Hong Kong, Hong Kong

José E. Alvarez
New York University School of Law
New York, NY

Frédéric Bachand
McGill University
Montreal, Canada

Gary Born
London, United Kingdom

Tai-Heng Cheng
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP
New York Law School

New York, NY

Prof. Jack J. Coe, Jr.
Pepperdine University School of Law
Malibu, CA

John R. Crook
George Washington University Law School
Potomac, MD

William Dodge
UC Hastings College of Law
San Francisco, CA

Mark Feldman
Peking University School of Transnational Law
Shenzhen, China

David A. Gantz
The University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Chiara Giorgetti
Aniversity of Richmond School of Law
Richmond, VA

Manuel A. Gomez
Florida International University College of Law
Miami, FL

Horacio A. Grigera Naón
American University Washington College of Law
Washington, DC

Andrew T. Guzman
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA

J. Martin Hunter
Essex Court Chambers
London, United Kingdom

Susan L. Karamanian
George Washington University Law School
Washington, D.C.

Abul (Munir) Maniruzzaman
University of Portsmouth School of Law
London, United Kingdom

Loukas Mistelis
School of Law, Queen Mary, University of London
London, United Kingdom

Margaret L. Moses
Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Chicago, IL

Pilar Perales Viscasillas
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Departamento de Derecho Privado
Getafe-Madrid, Spain

Alan S. Rau
The University of Texas School of Law
Austin, TX

Catherine A. Rogers
Pennsylvania State University Dickinson School of Law
University Park, PA

Ingeborg Schwenzer
University of Basel
Basel, Switzerland

Linda J. Silberman
New York University School of Law
New York, NY

Thomas J. Stipanowich
Pepperdine University School of Law
Malibu, CA

S.I. (Stacie) Strong
University of Missouri School of Law
Columbia, MO

Guido Tawil
M. & M. Bomchil Advogados and University of Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Louise Ellen Teitz
First Secretary
Hague Conference on Private International Law
The Hague, The Netherlands

Leon Trakman
University of New South Wales
Sydney, Australia

Todd Weiler
Investment Treaty Arbitration Counsel
London, Canada

Jarrod Wong
University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law
Sacramento, CA