Patrick E. Higginbotham Inn of Court

The Dallas Inn of Court LVI was launched in the fall of 1988 by The Southwestern Legal Foundation – now known as The Center for American and International Law, and became the 56th Inn in the US. There are now over 300 Inns chartered by the American Inns of Court Foundation. Each promotes competence, collegiality, integrity and education in litigation practice.

The Hon. Patrick E. Higginbotham was the first President of the Inn, and in January 1996, the name of the Inn was changed to honor Judge Higginbotham.

The Inn began with a membership of 65 judges and lawyers. Members are divided into three categories based on their legal experience – Masters, Barristers and Associates. The common denominator is that each is an outstanding member of the legal community who is interested in litigation. The membership term for Masters is unlimited; Barristers participate for three years; and Associates have a one-year term. Election for new members is held prior to the beginning of a new term in September. Retaining the more experienced members gives the Inn needed structure and affords valuable mentoring opportunities to those with less experience.

The Inn meets on a monthly basis – September through May. In addition to an opportunity to socialize with colleagues, each meeting provides an educational program which is submitted for CLE credit.