Board of Trustees

The Center for American and International Law is fortunate to have been led for decades by many outstanding attorneys, judges, law professors and law enforcement officials who have contributed their time and talents as members of The Center's many boards and committees. The principal policy-making body is its Board of Trustees.


Harriet E. Miers
Locke Lord LLP
Dallas, TX

Vice Chair

Dee J. Kelly, Jr.
Kelly Hart & Hallman
Fort Worth, TX

Chair, Executive Committee

W. Mike Baggett
Winstead PC
Dallas, TX


Mark D. Christiansen
McAfee & Taft
Oklahoma City, OK


Donald R. Abaunza
Liskow & Lewis
New Orleans, LA

S. Jack Balagia, Jr.
Vice President and General Counsel, Exxon Mobil Corporation
Irving, TX

Barry C. Barnett
Susman Godfrey LLP
Dallas, TX

David J. Beck
Beck Redden LLP
Houston, TX

R. Doak Bishop
King & Spalding LLP
Houston, TX

Theron L. Bowman, Ph.D.
Chair, Institute for Law Enforcement Administration
Deputy City Manager, City of Arlington
Arlington, TX 

Ann J. Bruder
Irving, TX

William B. Dawson
Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Dallas, TX

Cheryl L. Dunlop
Director, Administrative Services, City of Rockwall
Rockwall, TX

John C. Eichman
Hunton & Williams LLP
Dallas, TX

Curtis R. Frasier
Houston, TX

Beverly B. Godbey
Dallas, TX

Hon. Eva Guzman
Justice, The Supreme Court of Texas
Austin, TX

Michael J. Heidingsfield
Director of Police, University of Texas System
Austin, TX

The Hon. Patrick E. Higginbotham
Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Austin, TX

Robert W. Jordan
Baker Botts L.L.P.
Dallas, TX

Gregory P. Joseph
Gregory P. Joseph Law Offices
New York, NY

Susan L. Karamanian
Associate Dean for International & Comparative Legal Studies, George Washington University Law School
Washington, D.C.

Sylvia J. Kerrigan
Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Marathon Oil Corporation
Houston, TX

The Hon. Elizabeth Lang-Miers
Justice, Fifth District Court of Appeals
Dallas, TX

John Lindgren
President and CEO, Conversant Intellectual Property Management Inc.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

The Hon. Sam A. Lindsay
Judge, U.S. District Court
Dallas, TX

Michael P. Lynn
Lynn Tillotson Pinker Cox
Dallas, TX

John H. Martin
Thompson & Knight LLP
Dallas, TX

Charles W. Matthews
Dallas, TX

Dr. Anton G. Maurer
CMS Hasche Sigle
Stuttgart, Germany

Barry F. McNeil
Haynes and Boone, LLP
Dallas, TX

Homer E. Moyer, Jr.
Miller & Chevalier Chartered
Washington, D.C.

Frederick J. Plaeger II
Vice President, Government Relations, EOG Resources, Inc.
Houston, TX

Toni Scott Reed
Strasburger & Price, LLP
Dallas, TX

The Hon. Lee H. Rosenthal
Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas
Houston, TX

Charles W. Schwartz
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Houston, TX

Barry Sorrels
Sorrels, Udashen & Anton
Dallas, TX

Kenneth L. Stewart
Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.
Dallas, TX  

W. Anthony Stewart
Chief Strategy Officer, Tang Energy
Dallas, TX

Harry S. Storey
President, Storey Management Services
Plano, TX

Richard L. Thurston, Ph.D.
Sr. VP & General Counsel, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company
Hsinchu, Taiwan

The Hon. Dale Wainwright
Bracewell & Giuliani LLP
Austin, TX

John C. Wander
Vinson & Elkins
Dallas, TX

Elizabeth D. Whitaker
Dallas, TX


Wendy Daboval
Chair, Institute for Energy Law
General Counsel and Vice President, Land
Chevron North America Exploration and Production Company
Houston, TX

Franco Gianni
Chair, Southwestern Institute for International and Comparative Law
Gianni, Origini, Grippo & Cappelli Partners
Rome, Italy

Clyde M. Siebman
Chair, Institute for Law and Technology
Siebman, Burg, Phillips & Smith, LLP
Sherman, TX


  • Philip S. Anderson, Little Rock, AR
  • Dr. Giuseppe Bisconti, Rome, Italy
  • Harvie Branscomb, Jr., Corpus Christi, TX
  • The Hon. Charles N. Brower, The Hague, The Netherlands
  • George C. Chapman, Dallas, TX
  • James E. Coleman, Jr., Dallas, TX
  • George W. Coombe, Jr., San Francisco, CA
  • Kenneth R. Dickerson, Plano, TX
  • John L. Estes, Dallas, TX
  • Wayne Fisher, Houston, TX
  • Richard A. Freling, Dallas, TX
  • Henry Gilchrist, Dallas, TX
  • John A. Gilliam, Dallas, TX
  • Charles W. Hall, Houston, TX
  • Sheila S. Hollis, Washington, D.C.
  • Vester T. Hughes, Jr., Dallas, TX
  • Darrell E. Jordan, Dallas, TX
  • Dee J. Kelly, Fort Worth, TX
  • Ronald W. Kessler, Austin, TX
  • William T. Ketcham, Jr., Manchester, MA
  • Jack M. Kinnebrew, Dallas, TX
  • Tasuku Matsuo, Tokoyo, Japan
  • M. Colleen McHugh, Corpus Christi, TX
  • Anne H. McNamara, Dallas, TX
  • Robert L. Meyers, III, Dallas, TX
  • Joseph W. Morris, Tulsa, OK
  • Ewell E. Murphy, Jr., Houston, TX
  • William G. Paul, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Harry M. Reasoner, Houston, TX
  • Oliver B. Revell, Rowlett, TX
  • Sol Schreiber, New York, NY
  • J. Burleson Smith, San Antonio, TX
  • R. Gerald Storey, III, Dallas, TX
  • James M. Sturdivant, Tulsa, OK
  • William K. Suter, Washington, D.C.
  • Peter Winstead, Austin, TX