Dr. Gary W. Sykes Award for Professional Achievement in Law Enforcement

Created in 2012, this award recognizes an individual who has worked in a criminal justice professional for at least 10 years; has been instrumental in bringing about significant organizational change for the good of the profession; is significantly involved in community service and civic activities; and is a role model to law enforcement officers, support personnel, criminal justice professionals and citizens.

2016 Honoree

On August 16, 2016, during the Contemporary Issues and Ethics Conference, ILEA presented Major Kenneth Seguin with the Dr. Gary W. Sykes Award for Professional Achievement in Law Enforcement.

Chief David O. Brown of Dallas Police Department nominated Major Seguin on the grounds of his long and varied career with DPD, starting in 1976 when he was first hired. Most significantly, his assignment to the Youth Operations unit led to the creation of the Dallas County Juvenile Information System (JIS) which revolutionized the daily operations of the unit and led to greater accountability of juveniles participating in criminal activities.

This Award is a fitting and much-deserved cap to his 40 year career with DPD.

Past Honorees

  • Chief Doug Kowalski (2015)
    Prosper Police Dept.
  • Timothy N. Oettmeier, Ph.D. (2013)
    Houston Police Dept.
  • Dr. Gary W. Sykes (2012)