Ethical Courage Award

Given each year since 1998, this award is intended to recognize an individual or an organization for especially meritorious leadership or courage related to law enforcement ethics and integrity. Included among the annual awards are those for Ethical Courage; Noble Service; and Ethics Achievement.

2013 Honoree

At a special ceremony on September 11, 2013, the Ethical Achievement Award was presented to Mr. Mike McCoy, Senior Program Officer of The Meadows Foundation.

Slightly more than 20 years ago The Meadows Foundation, a Dallas based philanthropic organization founded in 1948, provided a substantial grant for the ILEA to establish the Center for Law Enforcement Ethics. The Center was the earliest ethics education program dedicated exclusively to the law enforcement community. Over the past twenty years the Center for Law Enforcement Ethics has promoted the ethics dialogue in law enforcement in the United States, Canada and a host of other countries. It is estimated that over this same time period, the Center for Law Enforcement Ethics has trained in excess of 12,000 police trainers to deliver three different ethics curricula for police organizations.

Past Honorees

  • Jillian Smith (2012)
    Officer, Arlington Police Dept.
    Arlington, TX
  • Dan P. Carlson (2011)
    Director (Retired), Institute for Law Enforcement Administration
    Plano, TX
  • Mark Field (2010)
    Chief, Wheaton Police Dept.
    Wheaton, IL
  • Michelle Guerette (2009)
    Police Officer, Providence Police Dept.
    Providence, RI
  • Henry Fluck (2008)
    Chief, Cedar Park Police Dept.
    Cedar Park, TX
  • Bob Decker (2007)
    Sergeant, Houston Police Dept.
    Houston, TX
  • Brownsville Police Dept. (2004)
    Brownsville, TX
  • Arizona Peace Officer Standards and Training (2003)
    Phoenix, AZ
  • David Gebhardt (2002)
    Officer, Rochester Police Dept.
    Rochester, NY
  • Keith Batt (2001)
    Officer, Pleasanton Police Dept.
    Pleasanton, CA
  • Perry Dunlop (2000)
    British Columbia, Canada
  • David Snyder (1999)
    Amarillo, TX
  • Jeffrey Harbin (1998)
    Chief, Carnegie Police Dept.
    Carnegie, PA