Storey Award

The Robert G. Storey International Award for Leadership was established in 1990 in honor of the founder and first president of The Center.  It recognizes Dean Storey's dedication to peace, justice, and the rule of law in the international community. The award is presented to a past participant of the Academy who has demonstrated the qualities of leadership and integrity embodied in Dean Storey.

Robert Gerald Storey (1893-1981) practiced law in Dallas, was Executive Trial Counsel for the U.S. at the Nuremberg Trial of major Axis War Criminals, and in 1947 founded the Southwestern Legal Foundation, serving as President (without compensation) from 1947 to 1972. He served as Dean of SMU School of Law from 1947 to 1959, President of the American Bar Association 1952-1953, President of the Inter-American Bar Association 1954-1956, and served on several commissions.

Award Recipients

  • The Hon. Mohamed Shafie Ameermia (2017)
    Commissioner of the South African Human Rights Commission
  • Enzo Moavero Milanesi (2015)
    Former Italian Minister, European Affairs and Past Director General, European Policy Advisers Bureau for the European Commission
  • Lilia B. de Lima (2013)
    Director General, Philippine Economic Zone Authority and Undersecretary, Dept. of Trade and Industry, Republic of the Philippines
  • Bernard Hanotiau (2009)
    Partner of the Belgian law firm, Hanotiau and van den Berg
  • Jose Luis de Salles Freire (2008)
    Founding partner of the Brazilian law firm Tozzini Freire Advogados
  • Beatriz Merino (2004)
    Former Prime Minister of Peru
  • The Hon. Santi Thakral (2003)
    Immediate Past President Supreme Court of Thailand
  • The Hon. Kunio Hamada (2001)
    First president of the Asia Pacific Bar Association and Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of Japan
  • The Hon. Didier Opertti (1998)
    Minister of Foreign Affairs of Uruguay (and later, President of the U.N. General Assembly) 
  • The Hon. Antonio Cassese (1997)
    President of the U.N. International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
  • The Hon. Raul I. Goco (1996)
    Solicitor General of the Philippines
  • The Hon. Rene Blattmann (1995)
    Minister of Justice of Bolivia
  • The Hon. Sergio Abreu (1993)
    Minister of Foreign Affairs of Uruguay
  • The Hon. Antonio Brancaccio (1992)
    Chief Justice of Italy's Supreme Court of Cassation
  • The Hon. Mochtar Kusumaatmadja (1991)
    Former Foreign Minister and former Minister of Justice of Indonesia
  • Marcelo B. Fernan (1990)
    Chief Justice of the Philippines (and later, President of the Senate)