Leadership Class

The Institute for Energy Law is now accepting applications for the 7th Leadership Class (2024-25). This prestigious program is primarily for energy professionals who have been practicing in the energy field between three and twelve years. Generally, class members are under forty years of age. Although members are largely attorneys, prior classes have included consultants, accountants, and other types of energy professionals. Prior classes have included individuals from large and small law firms, in-house legal departments, government, law professors, consultant firms, and others.

Why Apply?

Through participation, class members will increase their knowledge of leadership, communication, diversity, and the energy industry. Participants will also discover their strengths and weaknesses, the traits of excellent leadership, and opportunities for success as energy professionals in today’s climate. In addition, class members will build strong bonds with their fellow class members, establish relationships with IEL leaders, and have increased opportunities within IEL.


Most of the program will be conducted online, but an in-person class retreat will be held on September 25, 2024, tentatively from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. and September 26, 2024, tentatively from 8 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. in Houston, Texas. Attendance is expected at the retreat absent pre-approval during the application process for extenuating circumstances.

The program will begin with online programming in August 2024.

Class members will be allowed to attend the 8th National Young Energy Professionals Law Conference (date and location TBD), and the 76th Annual Energy Law Conference, in Houston, Texas in February 2025, for free. Additional free programming may also be provided to class members.

Costs & Direct Benefits

The program fee is $650, which provides individuals with the following direct benefits:

  • Associate Membership in IEL for the remainder of 2024 and all of 2025
  • Participation in all Leadership Class Events, including an in-person retreat
  • Free registration to the 76th Annual Energy Law Conference
  • Free registration to the 8th National Young Energy Professionals’ Law Conference 
  • Free registration for any young energy professional conference or programs
  • Free registration for all IEL webinars
  • Free registration for all online conferences
  • Free registration for all events free for IEL Advisory Board Members
  • Ability to participate on all IEL Practice Committees


To apply, please complete the application found at this link. The application deadline is June 3, 2024.


If you have questions regarding the Leadership Class, please contact:

Vickie Adams
IEL Co-Director

6th Leadership Class

The Institute for Energy Law (IEL) is pleased to announce the 6th Leadership Class. Forty accomplished professionals were selected to take part in the 2023-2024 class. The class consists of attorneys from eight states and Washington, D.C. Their experience in the field ranges from three to thirteen years. Several class members work in oil and gas litigation and transactions. Others have experience in tax, CCUS, hydrogen, nuclear, solar, wind, ESG, regulatory, and more.

The 2023-24 class dedicates time to their communities, their pro bono work, and volunteerism in diversity, financial literacy, mentorship, and more. The class includes veterans, home chefs, first-generation Americans, avid hikers, former collegiate athletes, cyclists, and a Tuvan throat singer.

Sessions for the class will begin in August, and the class retreat will take place in September. The class will continue through spring 2024 with webinars, networking events, and other programming geared toward developing young energy professionals.

The 2023-24 IEL Leadership Class consists of the following individuals:

  • Jamie Allen
  • Amadita S. Arredondo
  • Ryan Boutet
  • Catherine Bratic
  • Jonathan Cohen
  • Donald L. Collier
  • Shawn J. Daray
  • Carter Dickson
  • Mahalia Burford Doughty
  • Brandon Duke
  • Chris Dunbar
  • Hayes Finley
  • Ryan Frankel
  • Siobhan Galbraith
  • Manny Geraldo
  • Megan E. Griffith
  • Ryan Haddad
  • Karen J. Herzog
  • Rick Houghton
  • Blake C. Jones
  • Rebecca E. Kennedy
  • Aaron E. Koenck
  • Kayli Gillespie
  • Ryan P. McAlister
  • Laura Shoemaker McGonagill
  • Najwan Nayef
  • Nirav N. Patel
  • Ryan Pittman
  • Katherine Raunikar
  • Denice Redd-Robinette
  • Justin Rowinsky,
  • Skylar Rudin
  • Daniel Salomón Sotomayor
  • Brett R. Sheneman
  • Cristian Soler
  • Lindsey F. Swiger
  • Irina Tsveklova
  • Mike Vitris
  • Sydney Weathersby
  • Humzah Q. Yazdani