Practice Committees

The Advisory Board and its committees meet for business and social activities each February in connection with the Annual Energy Law Conference.  Other committee activities occur throughout the year.  The current practice committees are:

Practice Committees Director

Eric Camp
Decker Jones, PC
Fort Worth, TX

Environment, Social & Governance

The Environmental, Social and Governance (or ESG) practice committee provides timely opportunities for lawyers and other professionals to engage on emerging issues, share best practices, and learn about the latest developments. Because we recognize that ESG touches on many areas of the energy industry, we are passionate about working with other committees to jointly engage with IEL membership. The committee will host educational and social networking opportunities throughout the year.

Kelly D. Herrera
ConocoPhillips Company
Houston, TX

Energy Transactions

Energy Transactions provides a platform for lawyers and other professionals to engage with one another and stay sharp on timely issues affecting the energy industry, with specific emphasis in the transactional and compliance areas. With the energy transition in full swing, we will arm our members with the tools and connections they need to navigate the ever-evolving energy industry – whether legacy energy participants or participants in energy transition and renewables.

Jonathan B. Newton
King & Spalding LLP

Houston, TX


International Practice Committee promotes the knowledge and discussion of topics of interest to international energy professionals in private practice, corporations, consulting companies, academia and law students. The committee will host educational and social events of interest to international energy professionals throughout the year.

Luís Miranda
Miranda Law Firm
Houston, TX

Litigation and Dispute Resolution

Litigation and Dispute Resolution arms practitioners with knowledge and techniques that improve their effectiveness in litigation and dispute resolution. We will emphasize skill transfers from older practitioners to younger (such as negotiating skill points) and from younger to older (such as technical tips and methods). The committee will host webinars throughout the year, as well as either virtual or in-person social events.

Lara D. Pringle
Jones Walker LLP
Houston, TX

Oilfield Services

The Oilfield Services Practice Committee is community of attorneys working in-house and in private practice on matters relating to oilfield services companies, including traditional service providers, manufacturers, drilling contractors and similar companies. The committee focuses on providing education and awareness of legal issues facing the oilfield services industry in a meaningful form while providing strong networking opportunities.

Kevin G. Corcoran
Spencer Fane LLP
Houston, TX


Renewables Practice Committee provides a forum to identify, discuss, and provide resources and education to members on emerging legal issues that affect the alternative and renewable energy industry. Our membership brings together attorneys working in-house and in private practice to share ideas, address challenging legal issues, and build professional relationships across company and law firm lines. Our Practice Committee seeks to find areas of mutual interest with other Practice Committees where collaboration can add value to members of both committees and the industry segments they serve.

Archie Fallon
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
Houston, TX

Young Energy Professionals

The Young Energy Professionals Committee’s (YEPs) goal is to be the premier organization for energy professionals under 40 by providing:

  • leadership opportunities;
  • a diverse community of next generation energy industry leaders;
  • a supportive platform to increase their professional profile; and
  • substantive learning opportunities that will enhance their professional development.
Tina Q. Nguyen
Baker Botts L.L.P.
Houston, TX
Brittany Salup
Vice Chair
New Orleans, LA
Luke Liben
Reed Smith LLP
Pittsburgh, PA
Bianca Roberson
Immediate Past Chair
Shell USA, Inc.
Houston, TX