2019 Hartrick Scholar Writing Competition Winner

The 2019 winner of the IEL Hartrick Scholar Writing Competition is Daniel Katter.  Daniel is a second year student at Fordam Law School. 

The winning paper was entitled Two Birds, One Stone: How Incidental Take Permits Can Strengthen Bird Conservation and Alternative Energy.  Daniel’s paper will be published in the Institute for Energy Law’s Proceedings of the 70th Annual Institute on Oil & Gas Law published by LexisNexis.

Daniel received $2,500 and attended the IEL’s 70th Annual Oil & Gas Law Conference on February 21-22 in Houston, with expenses paid by IEL.

Other finalists this year included:

  • Matthew Ross of Tulane Law School with the paper Fresh Down the Pipeline: An Analysis of the Fifth Circuit's Opinion in Atchafalaya Basinkeeper v. United States Army Corps of Engineers;
  • Daniella Johner of Penn State Law with the paper Secrets Don't Make Friends: A Call to Overhaul the Current Chemical Disclosure Framework for Fracing Fluid;
  • Tony Faini of West Virginia University College of Law with the paper Legislative Stairway to Economic Heaven: Why a Dormant Minerals Act is a Necessary Addition to West Virginia's Recent Natural Gas Modernization Laws; and
  • Colton Tobias of the University of Houston Law Center with the paper Foe Turned Friend: Wind Farms Can Co-Exist with Oil and Gas.