Awards for Exceptional Achievement

Every year, the IEL makes a number of awards to recognize exceptional achievement by in the energy industries.

IEL Distinguished Leadership in Energy Award

Since 1970 the Institute for Energy Law has presented an award to recognize the extraordinary professional and civic achievement of a person or group associated with the energy industry. The award is presented annually during the Annual Energy Law Conference.

2024 Honoree

Gretchen Watkins
Shell USA, Inc.

Previous Honorees >> 

Deans of Oil and Gas Practice Lecture

Every year, a distinguished legal practitioner or academic is selected to present the Deans of Oil and Gas Lecture at the Annual Energy Law Conference.  A lawyer’s lecture for lawyers, the deans lecture is an opportunity for reflection and comment on a career in oil and gas law.

2023 Honoree

Jay Martin
Retired Sr Counsel
Willkie Farr & Gallagher and Chief Compliance Officer Baker Hughes
Houston, Texas

Previous Honorees >>

Energy Litigation Award

At the Annual Energy Litigation Conference each November, an award is made to an energy litigator whose achievements either in the course of his or her career or during a particular piece or series of litigation have won the admiration of his or her peers.

2023 Honoree

David M. Castro, Sr.
Retired Associate General Counsel and Chief Litigation Counsel
Hess Corporation

Previous Honorees >>