The Pat Murphy Award

The Pat Murphy Award for Outstanding Service and Achievement in International Arbitration is from time to time presented by the ITA at its Annual Workshop in Dallas to a lawyer whose contribution to the practice of transnational arbitration and/or to the education of others in the principles and practice of transnational arbitration has been altogether exceptional.

The award was first presented to Pat Murphy himself in 2008. Pat Murphy was, along with Bill Owen, the founder of the Institute for Transnational Arbitration in 1986. During his career as a JAG officer, a partner in Baker Botts, and an arbitrator and fellow of the College of Commercial Arbitrators, Pat played a leading role in the development of international arbitration and in the education of arbitration practitioners. As well as his involvement in the ITA, Pat held distinguished positions in other organizations devoted to education: Chairman of the Houston Committee on Foreign Relations, President of the Houston World Trade Association, Chairman of the American Bar Association's Section of International Law, Trustee of The Center For American and International Law and Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Institute for International and Comparative Law, lecturer at the University of Houston Law Center, Visiting Professor at the University of Texas School of Law, and, by appointment of the President of United States, Chairman of the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Award Recipients

  • Pat Murphy (2008)
  • Charles N. Brower (2013)
  • David D. Caron (2020)