Strategic Committees


Co-Chaired by Elliot Friedman (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP, New York), Rachael D. Kent (WilmerHale, Washington, D.C.) and Mimi M. Lee (Managing Counsel, Litigation, Chevron Upstream, San Ramon), the mission of the membership committee is to increase the extent and caliber of ITA membership by:

  • Attracting new members,
  • Retaining current members,
  • Encouraging current members to maximize their representation on the Advisory Board, and
  • Ensuring that membership benefits are valuable to all members.

Elliot Friedman
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP
New York

Rachael Kent
Washington, D.C.

Mimi M. Lee
Managing Counsel, Litigation
Chevron Upstream
San Ramon


Chaired by Julie Bédard (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, New York) and Ruth Teitelbaum (Head of Underwriting, Tenor Capital Management Company, L.P., New York), the mission of the programs committee is to help enhance ITA’s educational programs and networking activities for its members and the international arbitration community globally by:

  • Regularly assessing and identifying improvements to ITA’s existing programs and activities,
  • Identifying new topics, programs and activities,
  • Identifying the best technologies and practices to improve existing programs, and
  • Identifying the best technologies and practices for online programs and activities.

Julie Bédard
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
New York

Ruth Teitelbaum
Head of Underwriting
Tenor Capital Management Company, L.P.
New York


Co-Chaired by Ben Love (Reed Smith LLP, Miami) and Thomas W. Walsh (Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP, New York), the mission of the communications committee is to promote effective internal communications among the ITA members and effective external communications between the ITA and the global arbitration community in support of ITA’s educational mission.

Ben Love
Reed Smith LLP
New York

Thomas W. Walsh
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP
New York

Strategic Planning

Co-Chaired by Barton (Bart) Legum (Dentons AARPI, Paris) and Ann Ryan Robertson (Locke Lord LLP, Houston), the strategic planning committee develops and oversees the implementation of ITA's strategic plan.

Barton Legum

Ann Ryan Robertson
Locke Lord LLP